Best of the best: Charlie’s Burger

Charlie’s Grind and Grill

G/F RONAC Bldg.,

Ortigas Ave cor. Santolan, Greenhills

-and-

16 East Kapitolyo

Brgy. Kapitolyo, Pasig City

 

Hands-down, this is the bestest burger I have ever tasted in my whole life. No other burger chains can compete with Charlie’s 1/3-pound Black Angus burger. I’m telling you, you don’t know what REAL burger means if you still haven’t been to Charlie’s.

I first heard of Charlie’s while I was watching the now defunct TV show on QTV “Tara Let’s Eat”. On that episode, they actually focused on the buffalo wings with punyeta sauce since the topic was about hot and spicy food. Anyway, I was looking for a new foodie destination so I thought I’d give it a try.

I wasn’t much of a burger person. I’d instantly choose pizza and pasta (or a rice meal!) over a burger. Until I met Charlie. 😀

I’ll beat around the bush first. Charlie’s Grind and Grill has two locations: one is in Greenhills and the other in Kapitolyo, Pasig. The branch in Greenhills, though I’ve never been there, is newer, bigger and well I guess, “more sosyal” for the lack of a better word. Hehe. The Kapitolyo branch is your typical hole-in-the-wall restaurant. Located and partially hidden beside a carwash, not the best tandem for a great burger adventure, the place is small and the setting is very informal. It has an LCD TV which made the place look like an ideal venue to watch the World Cup or a Pacquiao match.

Anyway…

Charlie’s offer a selection of burgers and sandwiches, side dishes like fresh hand-cut fries, veggie sticks and buffalo wings in different levels of hot sauce(hot is “maanghang”; spicy means “full of spices”). They also have a wide variety of local and imported beers on sale.

I ordered Black Angus burger with fries and Buffalo Wings in hot sauce with veggies sticks and “bleu chiz” dip plus a glass of iced tea. Solb!

Hello Burger! 1/3-pound Black Angus 😀

The burgers are actually open-faced when served, so you could see how thick the patty is and how fresh the lettuce, onions and tomatoes are. I also like the black sesame seeds on the bun. Yum!

Loser shot, blurred. I promise to post better photos the next time I visit Charlie's.

The burger was AMAZING. I can’t think of any other way to describe it. The patty was juicy, flavorful and thick. And the veggies were fresh. The hand-cut fries were perfectly seasoned, a bit oily, but good nonetheless.

This is what you get when you are technologically inequipped. Blurred photo of buffalo wings with veggie sticks.

I love buffalo wings and I give this a rating of 3/5. The sauce was too sour for my taste. It’s supposed to be hot but the sour taste overpowered it. Althoug I do have to commend the idea of including veggies sticks for a healthier option. And the dip was yummy!

The best thing about Charlie’s is the variety of  burger sauces available FOR FREE! The Angus burger could simply stand alone, but the array of sauces was just tempting so I had to try them all. And mind you, it’s not your typical ketchup, mayo and mustard. Horsey Wasabi, American, Russian and Aioli burger sauce: I hogged ’em all (Y’all mine, sauces!).

Oh, and did I mention that their iced tea is real tea from tea bags and not the typical Nestea Iced tea powdered drink. I didn’t actually see the tea bags, I just know because it tasted exactly the same way when I made fresh iced tea from lipton tea bags. Hehe.

Despite Charlie’s being beside a carwash, the food makes up for all its shortcomings. If it’s good food, it’s good food. It doesn’t need to be a fancy restaurant or a sosyal location. I want Black Angus burger noooooooow!

The Verdict: (for Kapitolyo branch)

Food: 4.5/5

Price: 4/5

Service: 5/5

Cleanliness: 3/5

Lavatory: 3/5

One thought on “Best of the best: Charlie’s Burger

Leave a Reply

